Happy Poetry Month!

Today’s officially the first day of (National) Poetry Month 🙂 Wish everyone a happy month of poetry reading, writing, and celebration!

The April PAD Challenge

For the past two years, I’ve been trying my hand at the PAD (Poem-A-Day) Challenge conducted over at Mr. Brewer’s blog, Poetic Asides.

It’s a lot of fun! But it’s not easy to write a poem every day; we can run out of ideas fast, and sometimes, at the end of a long day, we just don’t feel up to it.

I’m going to do my best, over here, too. I’ll put up prompts more often. Hope that helps everyone stay fuelled with ideas!

If you’re trying the challenge, don’t take it too seriously (especially if you higher priorities and you don’t do this for a living) or too lightly (otherwise we’d never get anything done!). Give it your all. If you miss a beat, and couldn’t help it, it’s all right. Just stay motivated and write on! 🙂

Suggestions

Here are a few things that always help me out when I want to do some regular, intense poeming!

– I go all over the place looking for poems. I randomly select poetry collections from the library and borrow them. I surf the net for hours, reading whatever’s out there. The more you read, the more you have to write about! Apart from Poetic Asides, Poets.org and Poets Online are also great communities. I also thoroughly enjoy Mr. Grove’s posts over at How Not to Write – they’re thought-provocative, so I usually leave wanting to write something right away.

– I have a separate notebook for poetry-writing. (I think most writers who write different genres probably do this.) Helps separate my poetry from my regular journal entries, short stories or ideas. I carry this book with me everywhere. It’s usually hard-bound or at least has a hard back cover, so I can write comfortably on any surface (often my lap).

Image– I have a place to jot down prompts. This is usually either the first few or the last few pages of my poetry-writing notebook. The point is to be able to carry the prompts around everywhere (a note-taking app on a phone would work well, too), along with the notebook, of course 😉

– A lot of people like dictating their “writing”, when they’re on-the-go. A voice-recording tool, like an app on a phone or a device itself, would be ideal. I don’t really do this (mostly because it’s still awkward for me to listen to my own voice) but I often end up thinking of how useful it would be if I did, since I come up with most of my stories’ dialogue by, well…talking to myself.

Finally, the crucial step when it comes to writing anything regularly:

Set a scheduled time for writing. Confession: I’m actually terrible at this, but I do my best! When I’m not able to stick to the same timing every day, I try writing for that much time whenever I’m clear for it. It’s a great way to stay regular.

Image

Today’s prompt (sorry I made you wait!)

I wouldn’t sign off on the first day without offering a prompt! But since it is the first day, and all, how about…

beginning

You could take that in any spirit. It could be a “new” beginning, a fresh start. It could be the beginning of something after the end of something else. It could even be the beginning of something’s end. Perhaps about a place where something important began, or begins, maybe begins every so often. Let the prompt take you where it will!

A great poetry month, to all! Happy writing! 🙂

About Anuja Sundar

i love reading, writing, typing, stargazing, listening to music, translating, playing piano (not particularly well, though), snacking!, riding, praying, and a lot more than can be listed!

Leave a Reply

